Ottawa Catholic School Board Acclaims its Chair and Vice-Chair For the Coming Year!

The Ottawa Catholic School Board (OCSB) held its Annual General Meeting on Tuesday, November 14, 2023. During the meeting, the Chair and Vice-Chair were acclaimed for their positions from November 2023 to November 2024. This is a testament to their strong leadership and dedication to the OCSB.

Trustee Mark D. Mullan, who represents Zone 8 (Alta Vista/Gloucester Southgate), will remain Chair for the upcoming year. Trustee Mullan has served Catholic education for 27 years and has an impressive track record of promoting academic excellence and prioritizing the well-being of OCSB students. His commitment to responsible financial management has earned him the trust and respect of his colleagues locally and provincially.

Trustee Cindy Simpson, who represents Zone 10, including Rideau-Vanier-Rockliffe/Somerset, will continue serving as the Vice-Chair of the Board. In addition to this role, Trustee Simpson also represents students attending the two virtual schools. With over four decades of experience in Catholic education and youth engagement, she brings a wealth of knowledge to her position as Vice-Chairperson of the Board. Cindy’s background as a retired Principal and former Executive Director of the Youville Centre further strengthens her contributions to the Board.

During the meeting, Chair Mullan expressed his gratitude for being re-elected and thanked his fellow Trustees for their on-going support. He considers it an honour and a privilege to serve the students, staff, and families of the Ottawa Catholic School Board. As Board Chair, Mark leads by example, prioritizing faith and Catholic values to inspire and guide his leadership. 

Vice-Chair Simpson also expressed her gratitude for being re-elected and thanked her fellow Trustees for their continued trust in her leadership. She is proud of the Board’s work to provide our students with an education that combines innovative learning, a commitment to well-being, and a focus on global citizenship. While always upholding our Catholic social teachings to ensure everyone feels welcomed and accepted in our schools.

Looking ahead to 2024, the Ottawa Catholic School Board (OCSB) will continue to focus on essential areas such as faith development, equity, innovation, outdoor education, academic excellence, and the mental health of students and staff. Additionally, the Board is committed to implementing the Truth and Reconciliation calls to action. To do this, they will continue prioritizing Deep Learning practices and aligning them with the Spiritual Theme and Strategic Commitments.

OCSB Director of Education, Tom D’Amico, said the Ottawa Catholic School Board is fortunate to have a highly collaborative and dynamic Board of Trustees. Because of their commitment to Deep Learning, we can harness the power of Deep Learning and provide our students and staff with new opportunities to explore innovative solutions and approaches to tackle complex challenges. This fosters a culture of continuous improvement throughout the OCSB, of which we can all be proud.

Board of Trustees

OCSB’s Board of Trustees consists of ten trustees and two student trustees.

  • Zone 1 – Scott Phelan 
  • Zone 2 – Sandra Moore
  • Zone 3 -Brian Coburn
  • Zon 4 – Spencer Warren
  • Zone 5 – Joanne MacEwan
  • Zone 6 – Eugene Milito
  • Zone 7 – Jeremey Wittet
  • Zone 8 – Mark D. Mullan
  • Zone 9 – Luka Luketic-Buyers
  • Zone 10 – Cindy Desclouds-Simpson
  • Student Trustee – Nyanhail Domac
  • Student Trustee – Jaden Zang

Registration for Kindergarten!

Let us help you register your child for the 2024-2025 school year.

Register Today
News by Month
News by Category