Select Page

The Ottawa Catholic School Board has elected Trustee Mark D. Mullan as Chairperson and Trustee Jeremy Wittet as Vice-Chairperson of the Board of Trustees. Trustee Mullan is the trustee for Zone 8, Alta Vista/Gloucester-Southgate. He was first elected 1997, and served previously as Chairperson in 2011-2012 and 2012-2013. Trustee Wittet represents Zone 7, Kitchissippi/Bay and has served as Trustee since 2017.

“I am looking forward to working with my fellow trustees in the next year as we move forward on our mission of Catholic education creating equitable and healthy learning environments; schools full of students with respect for everyone while caring for God’s Creation.”

Mark D. Mullan

Chairperson, OCSB

The election took place at the Board’s Inaugural Meeting held Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at the Catholic Education Centre. Under the direction of Carla MacGregor and accompanied by Tony Dunn, the OCSB Children’s Choir sang O Canada and three other selections.

Justice Paulina Brecher officiated as the Trustees swore an Oath of Allegiance and signed Declarations of Office. The Most Reverend Archbishop Terrence Prendergast, S.J. commissioned each member of the new Board as a Catholic Trustee. Earlier in the evening, Archbishop Prendergast presided over Mass with concelebrants Father Gerard Monaghan, Father Geoff Kerslake, and Father Peter Sanders.

The Board also welcomed two new Trustees to the table this year: Trustee Glen Armstrong, Zone 6 (Ward 8 College, Ward 9 Knoxdale-Merivale); and Trustee Shelley Lawrence, RSCJ, Zone 9 (Ward 16 River, Ward 17 Capital) View for a full listing of Board Trustees.

Photo caption (from left to right): Father Peter Sanders; Archbishop Terrence Prendergast, S.J.; Father Gerard Monaghan; and Father Geoff Kerslake.

Share This